About the Program

Graduate Program in Philosophy 

Since its inception in 1997, the Graduate Program in Philosophy (PPGFIL) at UFSC has been recognized as one of the most prominent programs in philosophy among the Brazilian universities. It received Grade 6 in the last evaluation (2013) of graduate programs in Brazil by the funding agency CAPES, which means that it is a program of outstanding quality (CAPES’ score ranges up to 7, with 7 being the highest grade). It is located at the School of Philosophy and Human Sciences (CFH) and is connected to the Prorectorate for Graduate Studies.
The Department of Philosophy offers master’s and doctoral degree studies in Philosophy and receives not only students graduated in Philosophy, but also those from other areas, such as Psychology, Mathematics, History, Law, Physics, and so on. Visiting Scholars and Postdoctoral Students are also welcome to develop their research in partnership with our faculty. Throughout the years, the PPGFIL has accepted students from other countries, either by means of the annual selection or coming through partnerships with international bodies resulting in inter-institutional agreements, as with those of the Organization of American States (OEA), the Radboud Universiteit de Nijmegen (Netherlands) (NUFFIC/CAPES), and the Exchange Program for Graduate Students (PECPG/CAPES/CNPq), which allows students coming from countries in Asia, Africa, Latin America and Caribbean to study in Brazil.
The PPGFIL is structured as follows: the Coordination (coordinator and sub coordinator); the Program’s Council (coordinator, three faculty representatives– one of each area, a master’s student representative and a doctoral student representative); and the Scholarship Commission (coordinator, a representative professor and a student representative).
At the moment, there are 26 Permanent Faculty members and 03 Auxiliary Faculty members working in the following areas: Ethics and Political Philosophy, Logic and Epistemology, and Ontology (see the tab “Areas of Concentration, Lines of Research, and Faculty”). Classes occur according to the calendar of the University, whose semesters typically correspond to the months of March-June and August-December.
Dissertations and thesis coming from the PPGFIL have been awarded for their excellence by funding agencies as CAPES and CNPq, or associations like ANPOF (National Association of Graduate Studies in Philosophy). In recent years, we can mention: Jonas R. Becker Arenhart, who has received the ANPOF award and also honorable mention by CAPES in 2012 for his doctoral dissertation “Discussions on quantum non-individuality”; Joel Thiago Klein, who has received honorable mention by CAPES in 2013 with his doctoral dissertation “Kant and the Idea of Universal History within the boundaries of Reason”; and Amaro de Oliveira Fleck, who has received CAPES award of best doctoral dissertation in 2016, with his work “Theodor W. Adorno: a Critic in the Golden Age of Capitalism”, among others. Professors of the Department are also recognized by their excellence, as Alessandro Pinzani, who has been granted with the Karl-Otto Apel International Award of Philosophy.